Painting the Roses Red

In my book, Bouquet Chic: Wedding Flowers for More Than 160 Romantic Looks,  I use floral paints as a design tool.   There are some purists who think painting flowers is vulgar.  Call me the Queen of Hearts, because I really don’t see it that way. 

There are spray paints designed explicitly for flowers.  The one I use is “Just for Flowers” by Design Master.  On the most part I use the paints to intensify a color, like putting a dusting of blue on green hydrangeas,  or dust a white to a blush.  There are instances where I have painted premium flowers such as gardenias and stephanotis from their pearly white to bubblegum pink.   A lot of brides want it all -Scent and color.  Since white predominates most of the scented blooms, why not give them a tinge of color.  I don’t consider much to be flower blasphamy.  Sound off if you love or hate painted flowers. 

Here are a few examples from my book Bouquet Chic:

 

photo:  Jim Henkens, in Book : Bouquet Chic

photo: Jim Henkens, in Book : Bouquet Chic

 

Above is a closeup from my book on page 74 of the bouquet title “Lynette”.  Gardenias and stephanotis have been dusted with pink and baby blue floral paint to blend with the angellic blue hydrangeas in the background.

photo:  Jim Henkens, excerpted from my book Bouquet Chic

photo: Jim Henkens, excerpted from my book "Bouquet Chic"

 

The hydrangeas above have not been treated, but I spritzed the Sahara roses with black cherry colored floral paint.  This is from page 97 of Bouquet Chic, bouquet titled “Afton”

photo: Jim Henkens, excerpted from my book Bouquet Chic

photo: Jim Henkens, excerpted from my book "Bouquet Chic"

 

Here is where I colored stephanotis a real rich coat of bubblegum pink.  In order to acheive this effect, you have to spray lightly from a distance.  See the full bouquet in Bouquet Chic, on page 99, titled “Phoebe.”

Leave a Reply

